Mad Book, Shadow Book


Mad Book, Shadow Book is a song cycle by Stephen Paulus setting the poetry of Michael Dennis Browne.

The song cycle was commissioned by the Schubert Club of St. Paul and premiered in 1978 by Vern Sutton, tenor, and Julie Himmelstrup, piano, at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis.


1. Michael Morley Creaked
2. Falling Asleep in the Afternoon
3. I Feel Good Running
4. Morley's Root Song
5. Calm, Calm
6. Et in arcadia, Morley

[The text for these songs is not available.]

Audio PLaylist